Rajasthan Geography – Latitudinal and Longitudinal Extent

Location and Extent based on Latitudes and longitudes
Latitude and longitude

Latitude: – Imaginary lines drawn from east to west parallel to the equator, showing angular distance from north to south.

The average distance between two latitudes is 111 km. 

Total Latitude – 180

Total Latitude Circles or Latitude Lines – 179

Main Latitudes: –


Tropic of Cancer23 1/2° North Latitude

Tropic of Capricorn – 23 1/2° South Latitude

Arctic circle – 661/2°North latitude

Antarctic circle – 661/2°South latitude

Tropic of Cancer passes from the southern part of Rajasthan it passes through the districts of Dungarpur-Banswara.

The position of Rajasthan from the latitudinal point of view is the northern hemisphere (north of the equator).


Imaginary lines drawn from north to south perpendicular to the equator, which show the angular distance from east to west.

Total longitude lines – 360.

The distance between the longitudes near the equator is maximum (111.132 km) and zero near the poles.

0° Longitude – Greenwich Line/Prime Meridian Prime Meridian Line.

180° East/West Longitude – International Date Line.

82.5°East Longitude – Indian Standard Time Line.

Longitudinal position of Rajasthan is to the east of the Greenwich Line in the Eastern Hemisphere.

Rajasthan latitude and longitude
Location of Rajasthan in Map:-

Location of Rajasthan in the World or Globe – North-East Direction (East Angle)

Location of Rajasthan in the continent of Asia – South-West (Southeast Angle)

Position of Rajasthan in India – North-West (East Angle)

Shape of Rajasthan: – The shape of Rajasthan is asymmetrical quadrangular (Kite shaped). The term odd quadrangular was used for the shape of Rajasthan by the British officer T.H. Headley.

Total extent of Rajasthan is  – 5,920 km. 

Terrestrial Boundary: – The boundary which joins the land part is called the terrestrial boundary.

The terrestrial boundary of Rajasthan – 5,920 km.

Coastal Boundary: – The boundary which is joined by the sea or ocean is called the coastal boundary.

The coastal boundary of Rajasthan is zero i.e. Rajasthan does not determine any kind of coastal boundary.

The land boundary or total boundary of Rajasthan is divided into two parts. 

1.International Boundary
2.Interstate Boundary

International border: – The boundary line which shares a country with a country is called international border.

Rajasthan’s international border is with Pakistan. The starting point of the international border of Rajasthan is Hindumalkot (Sri Ganganagar) and ends at Bhalgaon (Shahgarh), Bakhasar Tehsil (Barmer).

Four districts of Rajasthan Shares the international border with Pakistan –

Sri Ganganagar – (210 km)

Bikaner – (168 km)

Jaisalmer – (464 km)

Barmer – (228 kms)

Internation boundry Rajasthan
Hanumangarh Separated from SGNR in 1994


The international border between India and Pakistan was determined on August 15, 1947 by Sir Cyril Radcliffe, former Chairman of the Boundary Commission, hence it is known as the ‘Radcliffe Line’.

Two provinces of Pakistan that form the border with Rajasthan.

1.Punjab province 

2.Sindh province

Three districts of Punjab province form the border with Rajasthan –

Bahawalnagar: – It is the most bordering district of Pakistan with Rajasthan, which forms the border with Sri Ganganagar and Bikaner.

Bahawalpur: – Its border is Bikaner and with Jaisalmer.

Rahimyar Khan: – Only district of Punjab province forming the border with Jaisalmer.

Six districts of Sindh province form the border with Rajasthan-

Ghotki: – Only forms the border with Jaisalmer.

Sukkur: – Only Forms border with Jaisalmer.

Khairpur: – Only forms border with Jaisalmer.

Sanghar:- forms border with Jaisalmer and Barmer.

Umarkot:- District of Pakistan forming minimum border with Rajasthan which borders only with Barmer.

Tharparkar:- forms border only with Barmer.

Two provinces and nine districts determine the international boundary.

The international border (Radcliffe Line) between India and Pakistan is the natural boundary determined by the pen. The total local boundary of Rajasthan – 5,920 km.

The total international border of Rajasthan is – 1,070 km. 

Inter-state Border of Rajasthan

The border which shares with any one or more states is called inter-state border.

Rajasthan’s inter-state border is with five states, whose total length is 4,850 km.

Rajasthan forms inter-state border with five states-

Madhya Pradesh (1,600 km)

Haryana (1,262 km)

Gujarat (1,022 km)

Uttar Pradesh (877 km)

Punjab (89 km) 

23 districts of Rajasthan form the border with five states-

Rajasthan has 2 districts forming the border with Punjab- Sri Ganganagar and Hanumangarh.

There are 7 districts of Rajasthan which form the border with Haryana- Hanumangarh, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur, Alwar and Bharatpur.

There are 2 districts of Rajasthan that form the border with Uttar Pradesh – Bharatpur and Dholpur.

The 10 districts of Rajasthan that form the border with Madhya Pradesh are Dholpur, Karauli, Sawai Madhopur, Kota, Baran, Jhalawar, Chittorgarh, Bhilwara, Pratapgarh and Banswara.

There are 6 districts of Rajasthan which form the border with Gujarat – Barmer, Jalore, Sirohi, Udaipur, Dungarpur and Banswara.

2 districts of Punjab which form the border with Rajasthan – Fazilka-Shri Muktsaras Sahiba.

Of Haryana which forms the border with Rajasthan. 7 districts- Sirsa, Fatehabad, Hisar, Mahendragarh, Bhiwani, Rewari and Mewat.

2 districts of Uttar Pradesh forming the border with Rajasthan- Agra and Mathura. 10 districts of Madhya Pradesh forming the border with Rajasthan- Morena, Sheopur, Shivpuri , Guna, Rajgarh, Agarmalwa, Neemuch, Ratlam, Mandsaur and Jhabua.

6 districts of Gujarat that form the border with Rajasthan – Kutch, Banaskantha, Sabarkantha, Aravalli, Mahi Sagar and Dahod.

Eight districts of Rajasthan are inter-districts which are in any Do not determine the type of international or inter-state border – Nagaur, Jodhpur, Pali, Rajsamand, Ajmer, Tonk, Dousa, Bundi.

Four districts of Rajasthan which form border with two states-

Hanumangarh – Punjab, Haryana

Bharatpur – Haryana, Uttar Pradesh

Dholpur – Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh

Banswara – Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat

Districts of Rajasthan which form interstate and international border –

Sri Ganganagar – Punjab, Pakistan

Barmer – Gujarat, Pakistan

Jhalawar district of Rajasthan forms the most inter-state border. (with 520 km Madhya Pradesh)

Barmer district of Rajasthan forms the minimum inter-state boundary.

The district forming the highest terrestrial inter-state border (14 km with Gujarat) Jhalawar (with 520 km Madhya Pradesh)

Bhilwara district forming the least terrestrial inter-state border (with 16 km Madhya Pradesh) of Rajasthan

Kota and Chittorgarh districts determine the boundary with Madhya Pradesh twice.

About Rohit Chaudhary

Graduate, helping others to graduate

View all posts by Rohit Chaudhary →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *